The life cycle of frog

The Life Cycle of Frog | A Brief Outline

A life cycle means the changes that an organism goes through when it is alive. A life cycle repeats for a new generation of life. The life cycle of the frog occurs in this way only. Different types of animals have different types of life cycles. Animals like frog go through the process of metamorphosis. Metamorphosis means changing from one form to another.

Stages in the Lifecycle of a Frog


The breeding season for frogs usually during the springtime in temperate regions and rainy season in tropical areas.


The female frog lays eggs in the form of mass, and the mass is made up of several hundred eggs. Depending upon the species, egg mass can be made of several hundred eggs. 


Within a few days, the eggs develop into a tadpole and live entirely in water and develop thyroid glands. The tadpole consists of poorly developed gills, mouth, and tail. The gills start growing over via skin until they disappear after four weeks.

Tadpole with Hind Legs

About 24 hours, the tadpole starts to develop its hind legs, and almost every organ begins to change. It means the organ has to change so that tadpole can go from living underwater to living on land. 

Tadpole with Front and Hind Legs

After hind legs, the front legs started to grow, and the tail starts to disappear. The tadpole has started to form like a frog.

Froglet (An Young Frog)

At this stage, the gills have disappeared, and the lungs have enlarged, but the tail is still there. The tadpole seems like a miniature version of the adult frog. It will leave the water only to return to lay more eggs.

Adult Frog

The adult frog develops teeth, and tongue muscles developed fully to catch insects. Between 12 to 16 weeks, the frog completes the full growth cycle. At this stage, the tail disappears.

If you need more help related to similar topics, take instant online homework help from our professors.